The Lathe Arrived…

Hi Everyone,

Yesterday the lathe I recently purchased finally arrived. You may recall that I was not exactly sure what would be included in the accessories. I can confirm next to nothing which was a shame.

The first impressions were what have I done, but after a cup of coffee and further investigation most of the important parts are just covered in grime and with some cleaning should be okay. I think the grime may have done a great job in protecting against rust in many places.

There were no belts that connect the motor to the lathe so I ordered them immediately as I would like to check the motor works, the plan for next week is to do a very basic clean of the lathe and establish what component parts are missing, what needs repairing and what needs maintenance. 

Most parts are readily available around the world but some do come at a crazy price so I will play a bit of a waiting game to try and get things at a reasonable price. I am also keen to try and use as many genuine parts as possible.

I do need to crack on with the deforestation of the jungle that I call my garden as  I need to create a pathway to my garage where all my precision engineering tools are, they would be very helpful with the lathe restoration project. To be truthful I would much rather play with the lathe than do the garden, but needs must I suppose.

Stay happy, strong, and healthy… more tomorrow.

POG,,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.