Summer Breeze

Continuing my Hebridean trip from yesterday, as someone who found listening to the shipping forecast hypnotic, my wife purchased this Beaufort Scale frieze ( ~7~ near gale 28-33 knots) from the Morven Gallery, Barvas, Isle of Lewis. The unusual gallery situated on cliffs on the north-west of the island overlooking the Atlantic, displays work of artists who share between them a love of Hebridean landscapes and seascapes.

My album of the day is "Sticky Fingers" by The Rolling Stones from 1971. The first LP released on their own label featuring the John Pasche-designed tongue and lip logo. An album full of explicit drug references, Sticky Fingers was a commercial success but reviews were lukewarm, maybe people just bought it for the Andy Warhol cover.

On this day in 1976 and for three consecutive nights I saw The Rolling Stones supported by American funk Band The Meters. Ronnie Wood was the new kid on the block and I remember being blown away by the opening song when I heard the Honky Tonk Woman guitar riff. For three nights The Stones were "the greatest rock 'n' roll band in the world".

Jagger had a major bust-up with Billy Preston on the dressing-room stairs and also took to throwing buckets of water during the show.

Lat time I saw them live was their 40th anniversary Licks Tour in 2003 and they were still tight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.