Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

An Unusual View of Christ Church, Swindon

It was a sunny day today, so after I had done my stint at school, I decided to walk into Old Town and take some pictures of the parish church.  

As much for myself as anyone else, I decided to find out something about the history of this church - it's not the church I attend, but it is a well known and loved landmark in Swindon.  I have walked past it countless times, as I used to work just up the road and have been to many weddings and funerals there too - contrary to what we read about "stuffy" Anglican churches, this one is very much alive and part of the local community.

I must say it was very windy so it was quite difficult leaning backwards and trying to keep the camera steady without falling over backwards, but I'm a tough old bird, so I managed!

Christ Church, designed by Sir George Gilbert Scott, is now a Grade II Listed Building and is built on land given by Ambrose Goddard, Lord of the Manor of High Swindon, adjacent to the Goddard family home and estate, where the old medieval parish church of Holy Rood Church was situated. It was built in 1851 using rock-faced sandstone with Bath ashlar dressings, and slate roofs, in Scott's decorated Gothic style.

The clock on the west side of the tower was transferred from Holy Rood Church together with six bells. The present peal of ten bells is immortalised in a poem by Sir John Betjeman (see below for the poetry lovers amongst you).  The hill top site means that the spire of Christ Church can be seen for miles around.

I found this on the internet - the ACTUAL bells - enjoy listening to these and also enjoy Sir John's poem.  A cultural journal entry today!  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUkEeLor9eQ

On Hearing the Full Peal of Ten Bells from Church Church, Swindon, Wilts

Your peal of ten ring over then this town,
Ring on my men nor ever ring them down,
This winter chill, let sunset spill cold fire,
On villa'd hill and on Sir Gilbert's spire,
So new, so high, so pure, so broached, so tall.
Long run the thunder of the bells through all!

Oh still white headstones on these fields of sound
Hear you the wedding joybells wheeling round?
Oh brick-built breeding boxes of new souls,
Hear how the pealing through the louvres rolls!
Now birth and death-reminding bells ring clear,
Loud under 'planes and over changing gear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.