Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

The hair is getting an attitude

When I was young my hair was curly and wavy and my mom loved that. I grew and headed to college and let it grow out a bit because, well frankly, I needed to cover my ears.

After school and into marriage and work, I would wear it shorter and shorter. As my confidence grew my impatience with hair care grew as well.

So as some of it has fallen out and most of it has gone fairly grey, I’ve kept it short. Easy to wash and not get messed up in the wind.

Now because of covid and no barbers being open, I’ve let it grow. I haven’t had hair this long for many many years now.

But it’s behaving itself. It keeps in proper waves, doesn’t blow around much and it’s kinda fun to have hair again.

It seems to be developing a personality of its own with a mind of its own. It’s becoming a bit high needs and washing it certainly requires more effort. But I’m hanging in there.

Yesterday I had to buy a brush that will work for me and I may need to have a chat with my daughters who have long hair about hair products to keep it behaving well.

But for now, I have the patience for it. For now anyway.

Who knows what will happen when the barber opens up shop again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.