Practicing, learning

Another beautiful day. 

I saw a heron this morning at the golf course park and pointed her out to a couple that had binoculars and was clearly trying to see birds. It was their first time in the park and they were loving it, and being OUT. I have decided this zoom lens is not sharp enough extended for the wedding. It may be a wonderful light weight and have terrific range, but not for a wedding. I do have a longer prime, thank goodness. I think a lot of photographers will be using longer focal lengths for the next two years. 

I cut my hair AGAIN. I'm not cutting as much as my stylist does, which means it needs cutting much more frequently. Last week I shaved sides and trimmed the back again. Today I cut the top. On the bright side, this is great desensitization therapy right? The next time Tracy cuts my hair I will be observing technique closely - not because I actually want to do this - just because that is how I respond to a challenge. 

Today's toy picture (extra) is of me trying a lighting technique where you light each individual's face and then composite all the pictures later, erasing the person holding the light. I've seen examples and they are dramatic and cool. The largest group photo for the wedding will be 12 people. My practice today let me know that ..... I don't have the equipment for that. We can go for natural light, assuming it doesn't rain, this composite technique, or at minimum an additional light stand. I suppose a plus of the composite technique is that people don't have to be there at the same time, so you can wind up with a picture with everyone in frame, but only one person or a couple in the space at any given time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.