LD 49 10 years, and more, on....

My first day back in colour and I don't really use it !

There has to be a good reason which is this - the top left hand image records the fact that ten years ago today I make a short speech in Gaelic at the European Education Council , the first time the language had been used at an official EU meeting.   It was a wonderful occasion, and I was immediately followed by the Irish Minister, who spoke in Irish.   I hope one day to be back and doing it again, but this time with Scotland as a full member state and the language as an official one. 

I have been a Gaelic learner for over forty years, and the Dwelly was given to me by colleagues in my first job after University when I left in September 1977 to go and work in Uist as Director of Cinema Sgire.  

The third picture is just to show how far things have come - the amazing Dulingo Gaelic Course which was launched last year and which is teaching over 200,000 people the language in a modern, accessible way.

Anyway, a good day to celebrate Gaelic.  Maybe one day I will feel confident enough to use it more often !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.