Red Campion & Red Campion?

For at least 60 years I've been able to identify Red Campion and thought I knew what it looked like. But today, for the first time, I noticed two such flowers growing side by side, the same - yet different! The variety in the top photo, with the split petals, seems to be commoner - and it is definitely Red Campion (Silene dioica). As we continued our walk I only saw one other Campion-like flower with broader petals similar to that in the lower picture. How come I never noticed this before? It's something to do with blipping that makes us look more closely. (That said, I'm in my 10th year of blipping hedgerows, so I'm a bit slow off the mark!) But is it Campion or not?

Lovely sunshine again today and not too cold despite the strong winds. I think we've had it a lot milder than most of the country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.