A day in the life

By Shelling

Titanic

On my walk today I went to the Grove and found a new path I hadn't seen before. Someone has cleared some fallen trees and cut some grass and the path was easier to see. The Grove isn't very big and the pathe just went to the end of it and ended in a field, perhaps it's been an old path to an old barn I saw at the edge of the Grove. It was abandoned and beginning to fall apart but there still were some old tools and you could guess how it was used. There was room for a cow and maybe a horse besides space for hay and machines. Maybe it was in use a hundred years ago and maybe there has been a house to live in too. It's hard to see in all the undergrowth and I couldn't see any obvious house fundament. Time stood still for a moment.

On the way to the barn I passed through a very distinct and quite large field of Lily of the Valley. It will be another week at least before they all bloom, I could only see this single one with buds, ready to go. It reminded me of the scene from the film 'Titanic', where Kate Winslet looks like she's flying when she sings in the bow of the boat. The barn perhaps has some symbolic resemblance to Titanic too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.