A day in the life

By Shelling

Mama Sun

It's been the most gorgeous Thursday/Ascension day/Garden and Art roadshow. Days like this are rare, they seldom appear even in summer. It's also my absolute favourite time of year. 

Starting today, this weekend is a traditional Garden sales day on the island, called Öland Spires, or sprouts. Lots of local gardeners and hobby garden keepers show their gardens, sells plants, crafts, bread, sells coffee and cakes. Generally there are lots and lots of tourists arriving to visit this event. This year not so many, but enough for us to notice a big difference in visitors. The title refers to the woman in the main. Her daughter is a well known reggae artist in Sweden and this is her mother, called Mother Sun by the musicians, a very fitting name in many ways.

There's also the Art roadshow going on at the same time. Öland is a place where many artists spend their summers working or/and doing exhibitions. One of my colleagues and neighbours  from the folk highschool where I used to work, is also an active artist, working with sculpture and various painting techniques. The first extra is from her garden.

I made a part of the afternoon into a long needed replanting, rejuvenating, recycling time. I'm quite ruthless, because of ignorance and not all plants can handle the treatment but most of them come out much nicer than they were when I started. And, I've now got many more than I did because I replanted some of the bits that I chopped off.

The last couple of extras are from my garden. The first gives you an idea of what it looks like everywhere now and the last is from my  reward-moment after Yoga and a long productive day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.