A day in the life

By Shelling

Dung

Since my neighbour moved and took his four sheep with him, the sheepshed has been empty. My landlord said I could do what I wanted with it so I started thinking about how to transform it into a toolshed, or something useful for my needs. Before I can start doing anything, the inside and the outside of the shed has to be cleared of the dung from the sheep. I sent my landlord a sms asking what he thought I ought to do with the straw in and around the shed, thinking we could have a discussion of possible solutions. Instead, he wrote back and said "I'll be over with the tractor". Instead of a peaceful morning with some playing and a cup of coffee, I went out to help him remove the dung. Even with the aid of his tractor machinery we worked for over two hours to fill a wagon with manure. We still have some left but we decided that we'd taken enough shit for one day and will save the rest for sometime next week. The sheep has been there for a little over a year and sheep shit a lot. Now, I'm beginning to understand just about how much.

During a couple of the storms in the spring, some of the roof covering blew away, because of a weak construction and poor material, that's why it looks like a war zone. I imagine a new, better roof, a floor and a door will make it into a useful space for some of my storing-needs. That will be a summer/autumn project. A a bit of a challenge, because I've never done anything like that before but I like challenges and are quite ok with practical things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.