A day in the life

By Shelling

Adam & Eve

This is a newborn plant of the orchid Dactylorhiza sambucina, usually it is seen in pairs with its cream coloured hybrid but she, or he, hasn't arrived yet. I did an hours walk at Alvaret, the big limestone plain near me, to see what kinds of orchids had arrived yet. I saw two species, this one and thousands of Anacamptis morio, I'm sure you have a name for them in your language. It must be a good year for them, I don't think I've seen as many at once before. Many more orchids are expected, I just need to go a bit further and know what to look for.


In the evening I invited my neighbour and her friend for a grilled sausage and a beer, to celebrate another gorgeous day and that we worked hard in the garden today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.