Riding towards the sunrise ...

... along Karangahake Road.

I wasn't actually riding at the time I took this photo. I may be a great deal more stable on my bike than I was in 2016 when the bike was bought (almost exactly four years ago now), but not enough to try using a camera while riding! 

I hardly rode it for the first year. By contrast, this year I have ridden my bike every day that I have gone to work. I have avoided rain, or put up with it. I have fought the wind which is often a head wind both ways. I have left the car in the garage below the apartment building during the week. Even during the lockdown.

Which ended at midnight, and the last 24 hours saw another day without any new cases. Our services are struggling to come to terms with what Level 2 means for the way we work. Probably very little change, actually. We are not going to unlock the unit, because we don't want unauthorised visitors just yet. We will maintain at least a metre between staff and patients whenever practicable, and continue to ask screening questions of every new admission. (Only one unit in the whole country has had positive cases of Covid so far. Even though one other unit is less than 100 m from one of the aged care facilities where there was a cluster of cases.)

One unfortunate change that has been put on us is that the new assessment system we developed to take pressure off the Emergency Department, and which has been a very positive innovation, is having to close as those staff of other services whose space we used, are returning to work, and we have nowhere else to go, without approval, and then modification. 

Another change, also to begin on Monday at 0800, is that I will no longer be required to not go into clinical areas; the risk to me is now very low, as the evidence suggests no community transmission of significance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.