Nearing the end of my run

I find myself ambivalent about working from home. It has the advantage that I can spend a day a week on just dealing with  emails, reports, and meetings (by Zoom). Joining meetings using the technology greatly increase my functionality when at home, even thought it can also be a bit of a bind.

But there is nothing quite like being at the unit when it comes to helping sort the clinical matters. Particularly today when almost no one was identified as ready for discharge, the unit was full, and the weekend starts this evening. So we called a meeting and an almost result was achieved. 

I have found that if I am present in person rather than as an image on a screen, there is a greater willingness to accept that we have to make choices about who has priority for a scarce resource. Perhaps I need to remind the staff that intensivists in many countries were making choices to let some people die because of lack of the resources they needed. We don't have enough of the resources our patients need, and need to make choices about whom we help. Because we cannot help everyone.

So at 1630, I resolved to stop and head out for a run. Getting ready to go took a quarter hour because of late telephone advice to a colleague, and email discussions I needed to finish. I was then able to run more than walk along the Arch Hill Reserve Walkway, and then up a steep path to the Grey Lynn shopping centre where I collected the mail. 

Then back to the apartment along Great North Road. Looking back at the corner by the library, I saw the impending sunset, and got today's blip.

I've added as an extra the traffic control sign on the North Western Motorway. There was another positive case today. The person had been tested some weeks ago as part of a large cluster involving an Auckland School and had tested negative. A retest was mildly positive. That emphasises the risk we still face, as had that person not obeyed the lockdown, unexpected transmission could have occurred.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.