From the top of the North Downs

The fine weather continues with no sign of rain in the foreseeable future. A cold blustery wind from the north led to a wonderfully clear atmosphere with great views from the North Downs Way as today’s panorama shows. We walked the route I ran on Tuesday.

I baked the sourdough that I left in the fridge overnight to rise slowly. It gave a much better loaf which we enjoyed as part of a ploughman’s lunch. It had the taste of sourdough but the texture wasn’t as chewy as I was expecting.

I refresh my starter each day by discarding half of the mix and adding new flour and water. I collect the discard and have used it to make pancakes and a pizza base. I have another recipe to make English muffins. Does anyone else discard half their starter? Some recipes do, some don’t.

This afternoon was spent weeding on the allotment and making sure the spuds were covered as another frost is forecast tonight. This is getting silly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.