CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Looking south across the The Horns valley

I woke early and made myself tea, but H. stayed asleep for a long time. By the time I made coffee the sun had melted the frost and the spring light was beautiful. 

I decided to record the scene while the fields remain yellow with buttercup flowers. The landscape will transform again quite soon.

You can just see Minchinhampton Common on the far skyline where a patch of the grassland lies next to the woods. It was just by the adjacent wood that I saw the highland cow yesterday. A century ago I might also have seen the windmill.

I like the two people walking down the slope on the far side of the Lime Brook, which has formed The Horns valley. You can just make out that they are in the 'hollow way' which marks the line of the ancient track that  was used to cross the valley. It descends down towards the original ford over the River Frome, now called Bowbridge, and then on up the slope on the other side to the Iron Age camp at Rodborough Common.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.