FLOWER FRIDAY

When I went out for my walk yesterday afternoon, I walked over towards my “sanctuary” and you may remember that I have mentioned that I pass a large lilac bush.  The perfume was beautiful and I braved all the nettles underneath to get in closer and smell the blossom.  I then went on, round my little field of sanctuary, and then round the big field, praying as I went and singing too because I had taken my iPod and was listening to worship songs.  I’m not sure what the man walking his dog thought, but actually, I wasn’t that bothered - the field was big enough for both of us and a dog!

I felt energised and I so enjoyed my time in the open, on my own, but yet not really on my own.  The trees were beautiful, the sky was blue, there were a few fluffy clouds and all seemed right with the world - my world.  And yet, when I got home, there was more news about people dying after contracting this virus - and even a doctor at our local hospital.  There is news in the local paper that people are invited to a huge gathering in certain parks in our town at the weekend and no doubt many other towns in the UK - but I sincerely hope and pray that these will not come to pass, but that people will be sensible and realise that we still need to be physically distancing and still need to be vigilant or in the words of our Government, “Be alert”.

On the way back, I decided to pluck a couple of the flower heads on the lilac to bring home with me to use for today’s Flower Friday challenge.  I must admit that I have never really looked at the structure of a lilac flower - the whole flowerhead is made of up many smaller blossoms, and they are my favourite colour, pale lilac, so I love them.  Of course, I didn’t take the photograph until today, and hope you like this.  It’s just a shame you can’t smell it.

I remember my Grandmother had a lilac tree in her garden and I always thought it was an “old ladies tree” but I guess now I am an old lady myself (although I don't feel that old), I appreciate the sight and smell, so I shall enjoy these blossoms on my kitchen windowsill and think of my Grandma. 

Mr. HCB is out in the garden, in the sunshine, assembling his second contraption.  I must admit that having put the first one on the garden yesterday, it looks good - just hope the beans like it and do what they are supposed to do, climb up the netting that goes over the contraption.  I have made a collage and put it in as an extra so you can see it - and also Mr. HCB assembling it.  Note the ripped trousers - teenagers pay pounds to have jeans like this - and I keep asking Mr.  HCB to throw these into the rag bag, but he insists he finds them very comfortable!  There is still a nip in the air and the breeze is quite strong, but no doubt we will sit out and have a coffee soon.

I hope you all have a good weekend - and perhaps some of you will even get the chance to drive somewhere to see your family - if you do, have a great time but keep well and stay safe.

“The smell of moist earth and lilacs 
      hung in the air like wisps of the past 
          and hints of the future.”
Margaret Millar

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.