YOU ALL KNOW WHAT DAY IT IS!

Well, what a whirlwind of a morning day - I was over at the Radio Station by 9.30 for Girls About Town - see the top left photograph of Nichola, Clare and me - and we decided to do a "Silly Selfie" today.  It was a great programme and went well;  we talked a lot about Mental Health Awareness Week, which runs from 13th to 19th May and hopefully got the message across that it is OK to show your feelings especially if you are feeling down.  

Of course, we missed Jo and Vikki, but Nichola who was standing in for Jo, did a brilliant job and having said she was concerned and apprehensive in case we had a script and an agenda, was really surprised that all the “chat” was “off the cuff”.  We even had two telephone calls at the Station to say how much the two listeners who rang in were enjoying the programme and hopefully there were many more who enjoyed it too. 

After that it was a dash over to The Jovial Monk pub at North Swindon to support their coffee morning at The Ridge Coffee Club.  There was the promise of cake, made by Sue, which I might add, was delicious.  I even sold three pairs of gloves - with half the profits going to the Radio Station and half to the Wiltshire Air Ambulance appeal.  

Then I chatted to a young man who had been injured in an accident about 7 years ago, and was able to listen to him and hopefully I encouraged him and his Mum, Lynn, having been there ourselves after our son was injured in a serious road accident when he was 15 years old.  

At times like this, I am so glad I am retired and have the time to listen, chat and encourage people - and isn’t this what life should be about - making time for people - the housework and dust can wait!

Another quick dash back to the Radio Station to leave some of Sue’s delicious cherry cake for Nicola when she goes in tomorrow when Shirley told me that the five interviews I had done with the Urban Sketchers group would be going on air between 2 and 3 p.m.

I had spoken to a young lady, Ashleigh, who is a student at university, and who was at the Radio Station for the day, so we pulled up our chairs and watched the speaker in the main production office whilst the interviews went out - how silly is that?  She was happy for me to photograph her earphones but didn’t really want to be photographed herself, which I respected, so the top and second photographs on the right show that!

By 3 p.m. I was flagging so came home and sat in the garden with Mr. HCB having a cuppa and banana dipped in chocolate, kindly donated by our neighbour, Lynn.  Now I need to get on with knitting some more gloves ready for the Summer Fayre at The Jovial Monk on the 25th May.  Never a dull moment - and those who know me, know that is just how I like life to be.  

"When I stand before God 
     at the end of my life, 
          I would hope that I would not have 
               a single bit of talent left, 
                    and could say, 
'I used everything you gave me'."
Erma Bombeck 

P.S.  For those who thought yesterday’s Tiny Tuesday vegetable began with E - you were right - it is an Edamame or Soy bean.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.