TINY TUESDAY - MYSTERY

I was determined to use my macro lens this morning and despite many shots being deleted, am quite happy with this one for today's challenge, suggested by Riwaka7.

I had my shower then decided that a wander round the garden in my pink robe would be quite pleasant and so it was.  I was thinking of the TT challenge and came across some buds with what we always used to call “cuckoo spit” on them, and the added bonus was that there was also a water droplet too.  

I read up about “cuckoo spit” and apparently, it has nothing whatsoever to do with the bird, but inside that moist ball of bubbles is a juvenile yellow-green froghopper - and I guess that could be it at the top of the bubbles - or spittle bug, sucking the sap from the plant.  Apparently it is quite harmless unless it is actually attacking the tips of the tiny shoots and can be brushed off quite easily - although of course, I didn’t want to do that otherwise it would have spoilt my shot!

I took quite a few shots, but when I came back indoors wasn’t happy with them so back out I went.  What is annoying me is that even with my glasses off and using the diopter adjustment, the shot appears to be in focus, but when I get indoors, it is completely out of focus.  There must be lots of Blippers out there who wear glasses and who could help me on this one.  

I also used the remote so that the camera wasn’t moving when I took the shot and I did get the monopod out of the box, but the screw attachment on that doesn’t match the camera - ah well, I tried.

Anyway, here is the mystery plant - complete with cuckoo spit and water droplet, that may of course, just be an extension of the “spit”.  I have taken the advice of a fellow Blipper and NOT put a frame on this and it has only just been cropped slightly, but if anyone wants to offer any constructive criticism, I would be happy to receive it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.