The Itsy Bitsy Spider Builds a Web on My Car

It is our custom that the cat and I go out and sit in my Mazda after he has had his supper. It is a pleasant interlude. We sit in the car and watch and listen to the birds. The Mazda has not moved much in these past weeks, as I've been working from home since mid-March.

While sitting in the car on Wednesday late afternoon, I spied a tiny spider hanging out by the driver side rear view window. It looked like it might be trying to build a web. On my car? Yes, on my car!

So on Thursday, when the light was decent, I went out with my camera, and there was the itsy bity spider, with a very fine web indeed. I was able to capture a few photos of the spider with its web, though it was tough to get the angle just right to show it, with the spider being so small!

I noticed that there was one bit of dandelion floof hanging from the edge of the web by the mirror. I'm sorry I couldn't include it in this shot. But when I saw it, I figured the spider might be planning its big get-away. Yes, spiders can and do "fly" through the air; here's an article about all of that!

I'm very excited and pleased for this little spider. What a good, hard worker! And of course, if I do drive the car any time soon, I'll make sure the spider is moved off the car and into a safe spot.

I don't know if it's true that most web spiders are females. But I presume it's likely this one may be. So here's a song for the tiniest, hardest-working spider I know of! Donna Summer, with She Works Hard for the Money.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.