Life In Wales

By KarenC

A Seal in the Sea at Seaford

Lockdown Day 54

This morning I drove to Seaford where I met Kate at the beach for a socially distanced walk followed by a picnic on the beach - I was so excited, it felt like I was going on holiday!

We had a lovely walk up to Splash Point which is about 1.5 miles from where we parked the cars, and we stopped to take photos.  I noticed something in the sea bobbing around but didn't have my zoom lens with me (I’d left it in the car) so couldn't tell exactly what it was, but it disappeared and then reappeared.  So I said to Kate I'd seen either a swimmer in a black wetsuit or a seal.  Kate thought it was a piece of wood bobbing around, but then we noticed it's face and whiskers.  

We waited for a while in the hope that it might come out of the water and onto the secluded bit of beach that isn't accessible, but it didn't, so we walked back down the beach to the cars to get our picnic.  When we got there I suggested driving back to the other end of the beach to see if the seal was still there as then I could take some shots with my zoom, and fortunately he/she was.  We then set our chairs up on the beach nearby and had our lunch, when all of a sudden I saw it swimming past us quite close to the beach.  We'd finished eating at this point so grabbed our camera bags and set off to chase it along the beach, but by the time we caught up to it, it turned and swam out to sea.  What a laugh we had though! 

We than sat chatting and by the time I looked at my watch it was almost 3pm!  Neither of us thought it would be that late, and we hadn't stopped talking once - we had a lot to catch up on! 

When I got home, I went in the hot tub for an hour and it was an easy dinner of the left over lasagne from last night, which we ate in the Palace watching Chris Moyles DJ set as per our usual Friday night routine.  It's been a really lovely day, and it did me the world of good seeing Kate.  

Oh, and you remember the psychedelic Rolls Royce I blipped last week? Well the owners saw my post on Instagram and have said that when it’s safe to do so, I’m welcome to go and have a proper look and they’ll take me out for a spin in it! How cool’s that?

I decided to make a collage of my seal shots as they were quite distant and cropped in, so not particularly sharp, but it was so lovely to see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.