Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Bumblebee

Ocado delivered the shopping this morning and our daughter collected six bags, which I had ordered for her.
 
During the afternoon, when she collected her groceries, our daughter’s visit was very short. Some of the bees in one of our beehives decided it was time to swarm. She got into her car and drove away; we finished our conversation by telephone. My husband shut the gates and I was ordered indoors because I have to carry an Epipen in case of bee stings.
 
For information: Once a hive of bees gets too big the Queen will lay some eggs, which will be fed to make a new Queen; then the old Queen takes a swarm, often 10,000 bees and leaves the hive. She will land in a suitable place and the bees will surround her. The scout bees will then look for a new home. If it rains, or they do not find a new home in a day or two, the Queen will go back to the original hive. Once there she will kill the queen cells so they do not hatch into a new Queen. If she does not go back, the first Queen to hatch in the hive will kill the other Queen cells, as there can only be one Queen in a hive.
 
When I was allowed out again I looked in the garden, as I like to photograph the swarm in a tree. Unfortunately it does not appear to have settled in our garden and I am not allowed out of the garden to look for it.
 
So it seemed a good idea to use a picture of a bee, taken earlier for my blip today. I too about twenty pictures and this was the best, although not as sharp on the bee as it is on the flowers.

The temperature today was fifteen degrees Celsius at GMT noon.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.