Lemon Meringue Pie

This humble slice of Lemon Meringue Pie may look like a perfect piece of pie, but behind the glossy finish lies a tale of woe.

My first attempt at making an LMP started well but ended in chaos.
I started to pour the carefully created pie filling into the pie case (blind baked for perfection) and seriously misjudged the volume, my sense of spatial perception letting me down).

The filling poured over the edge, leaving a lake of uncooked filling on the oven top...and I still had to add the whipped meringue mixture. This made the whole saga worse as it too flowed over the edge.
I slammed it into preheated oven, quickly lined ready to accept even more spillage and hoped for the best.

Meanwhile I had leftover uncooked meringue which I hastily shaped into individual blobs and put into the second oven.

I kept a beady eye on the pie but then took a lengthy phone call forgetting about the meringues. They came out looking like blackened ice hockey pucks.

The pie came out looking reasonable but the oven was strewn with goo.


So, now 24 hours later, here you have it; looking quite reasonable, and tasting very good. In fact to make sure it was edible, I had to have a second slice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.