What day is it?

Woke up early after not much sleep again, so decided to get up and out - took me a while to realise that it was Saturday!  Walked towards the next village seeing lots of lambs and their mums, calves, beautiful hawthorns, buttercups,  old farm restoration going well.  Route I had intended to take was blocked by lorries as the road was closed for resurfacing, so  continued on the main road then veered off up to the moor.  Still signs of the moorland fire, but lots of plants and new bracken pushing through now.  Masses of bilberry bushes - looks like there will be an abundant crop this year.  Onto the moor and lots of cotton grass, broom and gorse.  Could hear the pheasants, but they wouldn’t come out to be photographed!  Across the closed road to the next bit of moorland (more photos in extras), and with trying to avoid numerous walkers and mountain bikers I missed my intended pathway.  Eventually I had to ask a dog walker where I was as I felt I was heading back the way I had come, and I could see some houses I didn’t recognise!  Turns out I was heading the right way and I eventually reached the woodland I had intended to return  through, and heard a cuckoo for the first time this year.  Then after an undignified scramble down a very steep stile (glad nobody around to see!), I got back to the village.  Nice to have a brief chat with Wendles56 and husband T on the way past their house.  Was ready for my caffeine hit and some breakfast when I reached home.  I now have a sore toe - wrong socks I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.