Poppies and Piglets

Today I actually met a fellow human being for a walk and chat (socially distanced of course) - a whole 57 days after the last time I did!!! I never ever thought we'd have a pandemic and government directives would be given such that I wasn't allowed to meet family or friends for so long, in effect the lockdown has kept me in solitary confinement. I'm not complaining as the directives were necessary to contain this horrible virus.

G and I did the first part of the Bayfield bird walk up to the pig farm, then turned round as the full circuit includes a very narrow path where passing safely would be impossible. Then we sat in our foldable chairs by some poppies and ate a Ronaldo's ice cream. It was all just wonderful, and so sorely missed.  I struggled to know which photo to post, I went with a postcard but have included an extra of the cute piglets that were spinning round in circles play-fighting. 

Day 62 / Day 54 of Lockdown / Day 4 of Step 1 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 468 to 34,466 (our no's seem stubbornly high for longer than other countries), Italy up 153 to 31,763, Spain up 104 to 27,563. Deaths in Brazil have passed 15,000.

The briefing was around reassuring the public about the safety of schools gradually re-opening. Tests hit a record high of 136k, although over 30k are Pillar 4 tests as part of survey work rather than of people suspecting they have the virus. Lots of pedestrian walkways and pop-up bike lanes are appearing in cities. Beauty hotspots have been extremely busy. Trials are being done to see if medical dogs can be trained to smell Covid-19 for non-invasive virus detection in places like airports. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.