Gotcha!

I've seen a bee-fly around for several weeks but not been able to get a photo, then I got several today (at least I think it's a bee-fly). I went to the plant nursery early this morning and picked up a lot of bedding plants for my raised bed as it's too late to sow wildflower seeds to flower this year. They had an entry only point and had segregated the shop part and only allowed two in at any time. There was no means of cleaning trolley handles though so I was glad I'd taken disposable gloves. 

Day 61 / Day 53 of Lockdown / Day 3 of Step 1 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 384 to 33,998, Italy up 242 to 31,610, Spain up 138 to 27,459. 

R rate is now 0.7-1 and around the danger level for the virus spread increasing again. The reason given was care home cases, even though those have been decreasing. ONS now says there were 12,526 deaths of care home residents in Mar/Apr with CV on the death certificate (of which 3,444 were in hospital). However, excess deaths in care homes over this period were 23,135 so the actual CV deaths might be much higher. Nearly 2/3 of care homes have had no cases of the virus. I hope we move to a National Care Service soon. The briefing was largely around action taken on care homes with Matt Hancock seeming to say what a good job he's done and sounding tetchy with challenging questions - I think his days in post must be numbered. The BMA has agreed with teaching unions that it's too soon to open schools. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.