The Fellowship of the Ring

A pretty dull day today. Mrs M wasn't keen on a walk, so I donned my waterproofs and woolly hat and set off after lunch on my own. As it happened, I didn't need them, but I had a leisurely walk down to the lifeboat and enjoyed a long chat with a fellow Keep Oban Beautiful and Community Council friend and put the world to rights. This wasn't my best picture, but I only used it as I liked my title! My extra today is the row of fishermens' huts at Port Beag, the original Oban - 'Ob an' means the little bay, which is to the left of the picture.

I'm re-reading 'London's River' by Philip Howard and he talks a lot about Sir Alan P. Herbert, usually known as APH. This is the source of my quote today. What an amazing life that man led - see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A._P._Herbert if you're interested. 

Quote of the Day:

A. P. Herbert - "It was better, I thought, for those of us who have neither the power of superman nor the position of dictators to try to get a few small things done than to vapour vainly about the woes of mankind."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.