Under the fence

Back to the usual today - dull and drizzly - tho' as I write at 4.45 the sun is attempting, unsuccessfully it seems,  to come out!

Daughter Two (sorry Daughter Two, I meant Daughter One!) has come to stay for a couple of nights, so this afternoon we braved the elements and went for a walk through the fields and down behind the hospital. A hedgehog ran across the path and squeezed through the fence - the first one I've seen for a while! I had to poke the camera through the fence to grab a picture!

While we were there I had a look at what was once a wonderful meadow full of wild orchids - thousands of them! The owner applied for permission to build on it but was turned down. Apparently he then decided to turn it into a caravan park, in spite of being told to stop work. See extra. I contacted the Planning Authority  two months ago, but in spite of an acknowledgement I have had no reply. So there goes one of the most spectacular orchid meadows anywhere! Good old Oban! If there's space, then build on it!

Quote of the Day:

Mr Lawrence (from The Land Girls) - "You should see this field in the spring!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.