Always room for improvement

The weather has certainly improved - sunshine all day, blue sky, fluffy white clouds! This is more like May ought to be! 

I've spent the day outside, sorting out my crates of potted plants, getting rid of those which have rotted off over the winter and relabelling and potting where necessary. Several of the potted rhododendrons which I brought with me are flowering now, including this gorgeous scented specimen. This is labelled Rhododendron 'Fragrantissimum Improved' - I was unsure at first, but I'm pretty certain that it's correct. It needs a relatively mild climate and good drainage and as it says on the label it's a great improvement on 'Fragrantissimum' itself, which is mostly white and forms a very straggly bush. We grew many of this type at Arduaine.

Quote of the Day:

Beverley Nichols - "To be overcome by the fragrance of flowers is a delectable form of defeat."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.