Picnic in the park

Trying to think of somewhere I could go without having to get too close to other people we decided to visit the Woodland Garden in Bushy Park, where we could have a snack outside the cafe well away from other Covid-free folk.

I worked there from 1971 until 1973 and seeing a young guy wearing a Woodland Garden top I had a chat with him. I think he found it hard to believe that people actually worked there in the Stone Age!

Sis and I enjoyed a walk round both woodland gardens, very different in many ways from the old days! I left my sister on a seat while I went for a further wander and saw three girls spreading a rug before settling down for a picnic. On the way back to the gate I said to my sister that I was going to call out to them - they were quite a way from the path - and ask if I could take a  picture. She threatened to walk on and have nothing to do with me!  When we approached them I called out 'Say cheese', and lifted the camera on full telephoto. The girl in the middle waved and gave me a thumbs-up, so here they are!

We saw many water birds as well as squirrels, the dreaded grey ones in this case!. I was taking a picture of the pneumatophores - the breathing organs of the Florida Swamp Cypresses - when a squirrel decided to pose, so he's my extra today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.