My favourite river

The forecast was for 26 degrees here in SW London, so we decided on a river trip where I could avoid people with my Covid problem and keep cool at the same time. 

We checked the departure times on the website and arrived at the Thames jetty at Hampton Court in good time for the lunchtime boat to Kingston, only to find that something was wrong as we had an hour to wait, there were no seats and nowhere to sit in the shade. When the boat turned up we made sure that we were first on and grabbed the only two seats outside, facing backwards in the bow! All other accommodation was indoors! Our peace and isolation was shattered by two ladies, foreign tourists from I don't know where, who stood behind us for the whole journey to Kingston, talking very loudly and taking selfies constantly. I often wonder what it's like when they show their pictures to friends at home, everyone of them dominated by their own sweet faces! My Blip today is of St Raphaels' Church on the approach to Kingston. (Spot the suicidal Canada goose!)

We had a quick lunch at an outside cafe and spent an hour or so wandering around the town before returning to Hampton Court on the good ship 'New Southern Belle', which is my extra today together with a pic of Hampton Court Palace.

A good day, but would have enjoyed it more another time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.