Beside my favourite river again

My sister left early for a day of grandchildren minding, so I was left car-less for twelve hours. I didn't want to sit in the garden all day, so in spite of feeling rather grotty I slunk on to the bus and took the short trip down to the river.

I had a picnic in the shade of a weeping willow, just behind Garrick's Temple. I quote "Garrick's Temple to Shakespeare on the Riverside at Hampton was built by the great 18th century actor-manager David Garrick in 1756 to celebrate the genius of William Shakespeare." I then crossed the road and had a good explore of St Mary's Church - the previous vicar being a Blipper who has moved up the road to a new church -https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2972987522197489733

Later on I crossed the road again and sat beside the water, watching the boats and the birds. There were many scullers out today, being bellowed at by men in motorboats! Several birds came and sat on the ground beside my seat, hoping, in vain, for some food! Among them were mallards, coots, Canada Geese and young, swans and young and a couple of Egyptian Geese.

After a while I upped sticks and came back to my sister's, where I shall be sitting out in the garden until she returns!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.