Lady of the Woods . . . . .

 . . . . . and other places. 

We went up to Kinlochlaich Garden Centre this afternoon, at Appin, as Daughter One wanted to do a woodland walk above the Garden Centre. While she and Mrs M walked through the trees and up the hill I stayed put and had a cuppa with Fiona before wandering among the wonderful plant collection. I was looking for some more trailing perennials to plant along the edge of my drive bed and hang down the wall. I bought several, and also a specimen of Rhododendron luteum, known at one time as Azalea pontica, as it comes from the same part of the Pontic Alps in Turkey as does the  Rhododendron ponticum of ill-fame.

On the way back I stopped to take a picture of this lovely silver birch, Betula pendula, probably my favourite native tree. 

We had a visit today from the illustrious Parsley, Oban's famous cat. He wandered casually around the house as if he owned it - a good job our two were indoors sleeping on the bed! I've put a picture of him on as my extra today.

Quote of the Day:

Geri Halliwell - "I've got an image of me at the bottom of my garden sitting under my silver birch tree reading, while everyone else had gone somewhere exotic."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.