Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Unusually for me I awoke early and was out and about by 8am.

Passing the blue tit's nest in the garden post necessitated a prolonged stop to try and get some flying in/out shots.I succeeded up to a point but this is the only one where I've got the whole bird. They are really nifty

I walked up to the common in warm sunshine with a plan to get an adder perhaps. When walking dogs up there I really didn't want to spot any but often did. Today, nothing.
Spent a couple of hours wandering about but saw very little.

The rest of the day I tackled some more gardening.

This evening I just strolled down to see the owls, arriving in time to see an adult bird fly in. I could clearly hear the owlets calling but now they are in the large oak tree as well, having either crawled and climbed up or flown over.(Unlikely but they can now flap/hop/ ‘fly ‘from branch to branch )
I took a few images and then suddenly the owner of the property popped his head over the wall. He had just received a phone call from a neighbour telling him a suspicious character was taking pictures of his house.:-)
Luckily we know each other and he was thrilled to learn of the owls.
I was invited into the garden to get a better view :-D) while the wife and kids came out to see what all the excitement was about.
As we all watched it became clear from all the calls that there were two owlets in the oak tree but a third still in the fir tree where the nest is. The adults were bringing in prey to both trees at regular intervals and I got an image of one of the young ones eating a mouse
Sadly none of the images are sharp enough but I'll put a couple in extras for my record. 

With an invitation to go into the garden anytime, I'm hoping for better results tomorrow

Day total 3.5miles
Year total 449.3miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.