Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Tom's in town....

It was a toss up tonight as to whether I would blip a beach scene taken at Canal Rocks (heads), or a photo of the delicious entrée that Tom prepared for us this evening (tails) ... You can see which way the penny fell.

Beautiful 30º day in Margaret River today. This morning Tom gave me a hand in the garden by spreading 4 bags of sheep manure and this afternoon we went for a drive to Canal Rocks where I took photographs while he swam. It really is a gorgeous area with crystal clear waters. We then drove on towards Dunsborough and stopped at Clancy's Fish Pub for a beer. I very rarely drink beer but I thoroughly enjoyed it as I was particularly thirsty and it was a pretty warm day.

Went shopping for ingredients for Thai Beef Salad for dinner when I spotted some perfect figs...Yummo. Tom suggested he could make us a tasty entrée with them. I already had some blue vein cheese so we just needed some proscuitto. Off to the deli counter where Tom gave clear instructions to the young girl about exactly how he wanted it cut (he's a chef). The girl was having trouble understanding and so the supervisor said it was ok to hand Tom some gloves and the knife and get him to show her. Meanwhile a couple of french backpackers were watching what was going on from some distance along the counter. The lass came and asked Tom what he was doing and said she would like some of the same proscuitto exactly like he was having it (very thin, no rind). It was a very friendly interaction between staff, Tom, other customers and me. (The staff were amazingly cooperative...I love Margaret River for this).

So to the entrée....Proscuitto wrapped cut figs with Tarago Blue-vein cheese, served with salad greens and a french style dressing (dijon mustard, red wine vinegar, finely chopped red onion, olive oil and walnut oil, salt and pepper...Tom improvising with the ingredients I had available). Yummo. Perfectly balanced with salt, sweet and acid. This photo is to remind me to make this for family (yes Mum that means you) and friends in the future.

On the baby front...you guessed it....not yet. Perhaps 1/2/13

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.