The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Cleaning Out The Mouse Cage

I used to keep mice as a child. I started with three or four that I gave Latin names to such as Hector or Lysander, but soon, as they multiplied, I had to give them more descriptive names. The one my mother is holding here was called Brownie. I seem to recall that she ate most of her first litter.
When they produced, I used to take the litter to a pet shop in Sutton Coldfield run by Molly Badham, and was given a shilling each for them, as they were in such good condition. Molly Badham was a founder of Hints Zoo, famous for its TV chimps.

L.
31.1.2013

Scanned from a print.

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Del Shannon - Runaway (recorded 24 January 1961)
A number one UK hit in the summer of 1961. Max Crook, who co-wrote the song with Del Shannon, played the solo in the middle on something he had invented called a Selmer Musitron Clavioline (an early synthesizer with valve oscillators).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.