The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Dandy

There have been sad gaps in my life when I haven't had a cat, but my very first was a ginger tom called Dandy. He was my birthday present when he was a tiny kitten and I was about 4 or 5 and he lived until I was in my late teens. He was a gentle and slightly aloof giant with whom I had a close rapport. The Spotlight Kid can be seen in the background attempting to construct a model aeroplane.

L.
31.1.2013

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Kinks - Dandy (1966)
Dandy is a 1966 song from The Kinks, appearing on their Face to Face album. It was released as a single in Continental Europe only, where it charted, reaching #1 in Germany, #2 in Belgium and #3 in the Netherlands. In some countries, the single was flipped with Party Line (also from Face to Face) as the A-side.

In the song, songwriter Ray Davies skewered the would-be master lover of the title. There is speculation that Davies wrote the song in reference to the wild lifestyle of his younger brother, Kinks guitarist Dave Davies.
- Wikipedia

Herman's Hermits also released an awful version in which all of Ray Davies' masterful satire was surgically removed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.