Like a holiday

My walks are like a mini holiday. A nice morning on the beach, much quieter than yesterday. Only one swimmer and a paddle boarder came as I was leaving. Unfortunately I saw a small snake. Eeeek! If there is one thing guaranteed to upset me.. I can’t even look at pictures. Coincidentally, when I was getting up I wondered if I’d ever see one while here.. it was next to where the wadi runs out to the ocean. Mental note to self.. be extra vigilant..
a quiet day sending off my CV. A friend took me to the Exchange at the end of the day. Masks are mandatory now, first time I’ve worn one. I tried not to hyperventilate and get annoyed. And very concerned about the incorrect use of gloves, mandatory now too.. people come from their cars wearing them.. what are they bringing into the supermarket. It took an hour to send the money. No madame, you can’t send money to Egypt with your Australian passport on an expired tourist visa.. no madame, you need a 19 digit account number.. no madame, you don’t have residence.. no madame, you can’t send to your account in the UK because of Corona.. Madame, I need her ID and name in English, but she’s Egyptian and doesn’t have English ID. But madame, I need to spell her name correctly.. when names are written from Arabic to English, the use of vowels is random. Yes, lucky to live in the places I do, but day-to-day living can be a headache!
Home for dinner, watched the program on Michelle Obama on Netflix which I really enjoyed and chatted to N in Kw8. She wonders if she’ll get home to Canada to see her kids this summer. No one knows anything about anything now. One day at a time..
404 cases

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.