Snapshots of my world

By yeeeeed

The First Reservoirs!

I fancied a change of stroll and inspired by having been up at Blackstone Edge Reservoir on my bike at the weekend, I decided on my start point. 

As the walk meanders across Chelburn Moor, you follow the Pennine Way, Pennine Bridleway and the Rochdale Way. You pass a series of reservoirs; Light Hazzles, Warland, Lower Chelburn and Higher Chelburn. You also take in some of the Rochdale Canal. A really varied route with some really high exposed areas but then as I say, you also go along the canal in the valley bottom.

Towards the end of the walk you pass through Leach Farm which has been turned into an animal sanctuary. Pygmy goats were merrily skipping about, I spotted a rhea and a white rhea in a little enclosure...and then on the fence I suddenly noticed this peacock! I couldn't believe it!!

Also, this week is Mental Health Awareness Week with a theme, this year, of kindness. We can all show kindness each and every day to those around us, and also to ourselves. For me, I find it so much easier to be kind to others and I'm still learning to treat myself the way I'd treat others. It is so easy to constantly talk down to yourself, beat yourself up and feel unworthy. Let's all try to be kind to ourselves and then spread that kindness across the world. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.