Rodents rule

By squirk

Park bound

A lovely sunny day – nice for tea breaks and the evening stroll. We walked up to Norwood Grove where there was a grand collection of dogs. We've got used to expecting to see the Newfoundland in all his glory at a certain point. He was there today amongst many small dogs (Yorkshire terriers and pugs). I loved this Doberman running after his ball. 

We spied several high-wheeling swifts and a hovering bird of prey that was way too high and large to be a kestrel. I'm not sure what that was. I was in the process of trying to figure it out when a helicopter buzzed over and scared it off. Grr.

Fred spotted a bumblebee on its back on the path so I picked it up and tried to get it to drink. In the absence of any handy low level sources of nectar, the bee ended up coming home with us. I've given it sugar water but I'm not hopeful. Its wings are moving to and fro but the rest of its movement is next to none. We shall see if it's all a-buzz or not in the morning. 

On the way home I spied the neighbour who used to live above us. This was fortuitous because I remembered that I'd been carrying a card sent to him at the old address. I've had it in my bag for weeks in the hope I'd see him. Another job done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.