Gated

My Cambridge flat is in this block. I had to head over to grab a parcel from Chris (he lobbed it from a distance), who stays there whilst I’m in Mozambique. It was strange hanging around underneath the window as I would like to be in the flat during this enforced stay. I noticed the passage on the left is now gated, I imagine due to complaints from residents about all the drug dealing that took place there. I used to see some very brazen activities from my window.

I was collecting a few new items of clothing from Chris, so I can diversify my limited number of articles. Before they’re blanketed in cat hair I should get a few days’ use out of them at least.

I walked this evening in shorts, which was a risky business but it paid off on a nice evening. I also messaged Zoe, my old friend and colleague who lives near my flat and who had her second baby when lockdown was just beginning. Crazy time for her. I offered her the scintillating opportunity of chatting on her front step, but she was knee deep in baby baths so had to decline. We agreed to socially distance together soon.

In similar baby news, I had a great update about other friends whose second child has been born after a very long series of attempts. They live in a UK Overseas Territory and their WhatsApp numbers are hilariously short, possibly reflecting the minuscule populations. That news shook me out of gruelling proposal-writing mode and if I was a regular quaffer of wine (instead of a student style occasional binge drinker) I would have raised a full glass for them for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.