emmacooperx

By emmacooperx

Travels (Gulliver's & Mine)

Today I went on my first school trip as a teacher. I remember being a pupil and being so excited. Now I was on the other side, I just had that shared dread of losing a pupil, and the headache of being stuck in a coach with 65 13 year olds for 2 hours. That said, I had a lovely time. It was nice to spend the day with the 5 other English teachers from LaFayette and seeing Lyon again was nice if brief. I really enjoyed seein the French version of a picnic - at one point I saw someone with a hunk of cheese in one had and a baguette in the other, not quite the packed lunch the English are used to. One of the teacher's got out a knife part way through the meal to cut up her orange, certainly French.

After eating, Veronique and Isabelle went off to do some shopping and when they came back they had brought me a little package of chocolates uniquely made in Lyon (see picture).

The play itself wasn't great in my opinion, it was more a pantomime than a play and I didn't enjoy its all too obvious comedy, but I guess that it was French children so I was probably expecting too much. There was also a lot of innuendo which, even though the kids definitely didn't understand, made me feel slightly uncomfortable!

In the evening I had planned to get an early night because I was still feeling under the weather but instead Ludovic invited us over for dinner. Amelie was there and I hadn't seen her for a while so that was nice. Didn't get home until nearly 12, that's not going to be good for my 8am tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.