Brutalism and symbolism

The pressure to discharge to make it possible to admit yet another unwell person has continued. Fortunately, the registrar is very able and although I am being more involved clinically, the number of meetings today meant that I only had a couple of short periods of patient contact. Interestingly, I had a telephone call this morning from the Occupational Health doctor, who wanted to check on how I am, because they wanted to tell me that I should resume normal clinical work. I told him that I have been doing so since Monday morning, so he was able to tick me off the list.

I took this photo of a building at the University on the western side of Grafton Gully, with a couple of tower blocks behind. The university building is an example of the Brutalist school of architecture, softened this morning by the recently risen sun. The phallic symbols behind are much less attractive to my eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.