BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 59

Imprisonment - Day fifty nine
Tuesday 19th May 2020

Cycling Statistics
Cars - 25
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 3
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 0
Runners - 4
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 11.9c

It's funny how some days there are lots of people out running cycling dog walking etc and on others there are very few. Apart from Double Dog and I don't see her every day as I used to I see very few of my regulars and there are no new ones in the making to take their place . Although I did see Fluffy Dog this morning who again I've not seen since January. He is an old chap who has two enormous fluffy dogs. Not being a lover of dogs whatsoever I haven't a clue what breed they are. All I know is that they are big and fluffy.

It was good to have a rest from the Bentley today as I started to spray our old bed which we have had since we got married. It was not the bed we intended to have as we were given an old one by Ros' Mum and Dad but our house was so small and the stairs so narrow with a door at the bottom that we could not get the bed up to our bedroom. It wouldn't even fit through the window. So while we were away on Honeymoon my kind Cousin Jonathan who ran his family's furniture shop in Leamington was tasked with finding a bed which would get up the narrow stairs with the other proviso that it had to be installed before our return.

Jonathan came up trump's and got us what was then a state of the art space age modular bed designed and made in Redditch by James Seccombe who if I remember correctly had not long been killed in a car crash. The bed was brilliant and has served us well but the sting in the tail was that it was very expensive at around £250.00. This was a huge sum to us especially as we had no money to pay off the Access as it was then credit card bill. Again Jonathan came to the rescue and gave us six months credit. Still the bed has served us well and like an old car needs some restoration. In fact we have had it thirty nine years so it was good value as it has only cost us 1.76 pence a day.

I only managed to get the draw units sprayed today as I found out that the satin white cellulose paint I bought does not cover well and I ended up using a litre of gloss white that I'd bought some years ago but did not use. So spraying that to give colour I then sprayed the satin white over the top to give the required finish. It was all quite easy with no undercoat and no masking off just jet washing the units clean drying them and wiping them with a degreasing agent then spraying. The litre of white did not go far so I've ordered five litres off my friend's from Brighton Auto Paints as they deliver on a reasonably timely basis.

With the draw units done I had an hour to spare and finished off fitting the Bentley head and side light lenses. I decanted some silicone sealant into a small syringe which I acquired from the supplier of the fibreglass resin for measuring the quantity of hardener. This worked well as it squirted smaller amounts more accurately and did not continue to squirt when you take your finger off the applicator's trigger. I left the silicone to dry and took the bed draw units back up to the house.

Today's beautifully hot sunny weather was just what was needed to harden off the Bentley's paintwork as I left the car in full view of the sun. I have one of these point and shoot thermometers which when aimed at the bonnet just after lunch read 64.3c. That heat will certainly cure the paint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.