BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 60

Imprisonment - Day sixty
Wednesday 20th May 2020

Cycling Statistics
Cars - 40
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 9
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 2
Runners - 3
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 9.6c

It looks as if people are slowly drifting back to work as the car count hit forty this morning. There were also a lot of people about with nine cyclists of which only two said good morning the rest didn't even look my way. They're terribly miserable but that will not deter me from shouting good morning at them as I don't want to get as wretched as they are.

Another Bentley day as I undersealed the front and rear mudguards and wings. It's a nasty grubby job as whatever I seem to do I get covered in the black gooey stuff. Last time I applied it with a brush but this time I used the applicator powered by my air compressor which actually worked very well and I only got a few sploshes and splashes over me. As I had to removed the wheels to do this I cleaned and painted them with black satin from a rattle can and painted the tyres with tyre black so the car is beginning to look loved again although there is still a long way to go. When I looked at the rear wheels I noticed that there were six broken spokes on the offside and two broken on the nearside. I always look for broken spokes and it's strange I didn't notice these when I put the new tyres on last September. There was nothing else for it but to remove the tyre and inner tube and replace the spokes. Over the years I've had lots of broken spokes as the car is a work horse and is driven accordingly. The other problem is that we do more miles in a year than others do in five so I expect and accept that things break or go wrong. Anyway I have a selection of spokes in stock and managed to replace the six broken ones on the offside and the two on the nearside are a job for tomorrow.

It was hot again today so I turned the car round so the nearside caught the sun. As far as I can tell the paint work seems to be curing well and becoming hard so when my 3,000 grit sanding sponges arrive I reckon I can start flatting back the clear coat and giving it a good polish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.