Lockdown Hat #10

Another little number from the St Malo ‘Red Hat’ shop. I really love this one though I’m not sure it’s particularly flattering. Actually looking at it the style is a toque as our Advocates wear. That makes sense since they have to not only be qualified UK lawyers but also pass exams in Caen because Guernsey Law is Norman based. But it’s a cosy soft fabric and ideal for winter rather than summer so will get more outings later in the year.
I love the earrings which I bought about 20 years ago in Brecon. I remember it so well because there was a choice of these blue ones or very similar red ones and it took me ages to choose between them. I still regret that I didn’t buy both because they cost so little; about £10 maximum. I still look at earrings wherever I am (and buy lots) but I’ve never seen others like these. 
I have another great regret about missed chances with earrings. While living in Shropshire I saw the most amazing pair of green frog earrings in Shrewsbury.  I was hesitant about buying them because our close friends were Jan and her husband who was known as Frog. They collected all things frog and had many lovely ornaments etc. It seemed wrong that I should wear frog earrings and I just didn’t think they were Jan‘s “thing”; too long and dangly. So another pair that got away.
These specs are a more or less up to date prescription. They have interchangeable arms, blue and white. I generally wear them asymmetrically.
I am getting out and about daily; these blips make it look as if I’m caged in the house. Those with medical conditions that may mean they should be shielding are advised to consult their GP. My GP told me weeks ago that I should be out daily. So I’m very happy with my lockdown. This is much more like the Guernsey I grew up in and I just don’t want it to go back to being jam packed with people. Nothing to do with the virus; I just don’t want so many people around...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.