twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

WFH; Tom came for his home schooling thingy whilst the virtual sports day went ahead up the road.

We hit the streets at lunchtime to seek out Behinddoor7 #1; inadvertantly passing #2 on the way there! I didn't realise until later on though.

Pointless Skype team meeting (a bit like the real ones); reading between the lines my nice little niche would appear to be fast becoming  a non niche in which I can operate. I've always known that if I was in the posiiton of someone higher up the food chain I could quite easily 'rationalise' the service and make significant changes.

The afternoon rolled on through; English comprehension (I think it might be open reading now?) and science. 

Tom departed. I eventually drew proceedings to a close and went off to forage for Her.

She remains up and down; still feverish, very occasional bouts of coughing, tired beyond words, aching, shivers, upset stomach, raised heart rate (is it anxiety? Of which there is plenty, let me tell you!) and odd instances of trying to catch breath. Nothing drastic, but... not helped by her Senior TO's husband dying of CV over the weekend. It all becomes a little frantic knowing you have something for which there is no definite cure. For all I can point to stats showing BAME / Male /  Elderly / Underlying Health Condition etc, she can point to her colleague's husband. Ultimately once you have this, you have no clue where it might end. And potentially you get weeks of this, with Her children and family and me all sitting here, waiting. It's brutal. For everyone. Oh did I mention Her mother is exhibiting signs of psychosis? Talk of sectioning sometime this week. Just to throw that into the mix.

So I make no apology for going in to see her tonight when I arrived with the shopping. I in all likelihood have had it and am potentially / probably immune to some degree. I am going home to my own place; I see the boys on Friday by which time I shall have washed, washed and washed again. We have been together for - 6 years? 7?  In that time we've never gone longer than 2-3 days without seeing each other; typically 11 days out of 14 we see each other for 3-4 hours minimum. So in the last 8 weeks, we've seen each other up  close - er - twice? It's borderline bereavement / break up territory. Add into that the failure to be able to apply the sickness / health clause by a governement which is proving slow and inept, is it any wonder I have no qualms about breaking 'advice' to go and hold Her hand and comfort her as best I can in what is a frightening time. I understand why the rules are there and I understand why I need to adhere to them - I have children, one of whom is in a higher risk bracket and who's aging grandmother who he lives with is up a nothc or two from him. But. I cannot ignore the love of my life's well being and need of a cuddle at this time. Every time I step away from her door, I pause and reflect that although it's unlikely, I may never see her again. 
Which is why I have such simmering contempt for our 'leaders' and their blyth disregard for humanity and common decency at this time. They couldn't have stopped the virus from happening, but they could have done a whole lot more to protect the country from its effects. But chose to look after themselves instead. There's just not enough of 'us' from them for my liking.

Anyway 5 years worth of blips in over 11 years since I first posted; hardly productive. I may have quoted Confucious before in relation to this - it's not how slowly you go as long as you keep going. Thanks for all your kindness, interest, and mostly inspiration. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.