twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Wednesday - hump day. Not if you only work 4 days a week, mind.

McFlurry (Sleaford Mods - "£1.29 on shit, I got a Brit Award, 5 day bender") appeared on Instagram so off I went on a morning soundtracked by shouty agitprop - ironically on Alexa. 

She phoned early on - her sister had found her mum sitting at the bottom of the steps; and instantly called the MH nurse; said if you don't come and fetch her, I'll bring her to you. So not the dramatic exit but a gentle acceptance that she needed help.  A painful day, but hopefully she'll get back out once the medication starts working. At three times removed, I felt distraught, and I know that the last thing She needed is a day of remote anxiety on top of continuing fever. So a less than productive day; distracted and disinterested, unable to lose myself in work as it's not my work and I don't have the familiarity to do it naturally yet. 

The neighbours didn't help by setting up the bbq in the early afternoon; coupled with the Scottish summer (as noted by another blipper - always a Wednesday in May) making its appearance and bringing out all and sundry from internal exile.

I signed off at the earliest available opportunity and took my shopping list and pistachio & feta dip and headed to her. She looked thin - which is no mean feat considering. Tanned, though - She'd managed an hour out in the sun but the climb back up 3 flights had been a struggle....

I pretended to sit for the benefit of her kids, but cooked for us all secretly and sat a little while in the manner of one visiting in hospital, watching her visibly wilt at the end of another rubbish day. 

I've missed out her convo with work, the phone call to the patronising NHS helpline, the constant 3 way discussion with her siblings, each contributing snippets from their various chats with their mother and piecing together the reality...

For light relief I sought out (sucessfully) the day's BehindDoor7 offering - in the heart of the New Town in a quiet lane- as I sped home on the bike.

Thanks one and all for your messages and hearts and stars of yesterday. I'll get on with the replies when I get a chance..... you're a lovely lot so you are. But you surely know that already? You should, if you don't. Peace & Love 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.