BUTTERFLY CAFE OPEN

Day 68 of personal lockdown.


Such a beautiful day to day, so after breakfast I decided to take the car for a run, but didn't want to go far as it still isn't right.  Hubby and G were both busy so I just did a round trip, into Grange, up Windermere Road (the B5271), onto the A590 to Newby Bridge, down The Mosses (the B5278) and then onto the Holker Estate and decided to do one of the permissive walks.

I was surprise at how much traffic there was around, mostly younger people so they could be working or something.  It wasn't heaving, just busier than I expected.   I was going to pull in to stop, but just drove on as I didn't feel comfortable doing that.

I kept on the pathway of course.  The air was filled with beautiful bird song and a pied wagtail (I think that's what it is anyway (see extras for the collage) kindly walked in front of me to show me the way. He was quite funny he kepting bobbing ahead of me then stopping as if to see if I was following.  I couldn't get a brilliant clear shot as I didn't want to frighten him so I just enjoyed his company.  There were loads of butterflies, mostly these white ones, which I think could be wood whites.  I also think I saw a large dragonfly or something similar but it was so quick of course, definitely not a butterfly or a bird but quite large.

It's very flat but you can see the Old Man of Coniston and the mountains of the Lake District in the distance as well as a different view of The Hoad in Ulverston.  

One older couple passed me but that is all I saw.  We said hello and I stepped back to let them pass so I could continue taking some photos.
 I noticed several cars going down to The Estuary so it was just as well to stay away from there as the car park may have been full anyway.  

That was it really.  Then home to more excitement of sorting out the photos.  

Hope you are all well and staying safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.