Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Full Frame Xena

I wasn't getting any cooperation with the birds today, plus the bright sun, while enjoyable, was my photographic enemy.  So I found myself sitting on the patio late in the afternoon being entertained by chipmunks.  As usual, I put out some seeds by Xena's burrow and she rushed out to hoover them up.  Her two youngsters (see HERE ) were keeping an eye on me from a safe distance.  Seems she hasn't kicked them out of the burrow yet although soon enough she will.  Anyhoo...I took this from a distance of about 4 feet, full frame, no cropping or editing.  She was in the shade so the light was perfect.  The only thing I did was resize the image since it was humongous and would never have uploaded.

I planted a few things in the perennial pollinator garden, fiddled with the fountain and otherwise don't have much of anything to show for the day.  I have stayed away from the news, other than watching the governor's press briefing. 

The bluebirds now have 5 perfect eggs in the box.  This is usually the size of their brood, but I will check again tomorrow afternoon to see if they are going for six.  No signs of the orioles today so I think I was getting ahead of myself in hoping they were nesting nearby.  Oh well.  

New Jersey passed a horrific milestone in the Covid war today, so I will update the stats below.  Still over 3,000 people hospitalized in our state with slightly less than 900 on ventilators.  We are on the right road, but it is slow going.

Stay safe.  Be kind.

xo
Debbi

Covid Stats
Total positives as of today in NJ - 150,399
Total deaths in NJ - 10,747
Total cases in Sussex County - 1069 ---  deaths - 140


We've been in lockdown for two months

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.