Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Isolation

I woke up in a funk today - the first thing that came to mind was that I should have been in Costa Rica with my friends, on my way to the cloud forest in Talamanca.  Yes, I am feeling sorry for myself.  We are all entitled sometimes, aren't we?

One thing that comes as a byproduct of this virus is that it takes a toll on our mental health.  People like me who have battled depression for quite some time may be quicker to spot the symptoms in ourselves right now.  I worry, however, about people who've never had depression or anxiety issues and that they may be reluctant to talk about it or ask for help.  Or even necessarily understand what is happening.  So be especially kind to yourselves right now - give yourself permission to say you are scared, or sad, or mad, or just jumpy.  I think we can all agree that the world we are living in right now is very, very stressful.  

I wasn't motivated for photography today but I wanted to post something that would sort of capture what I was feeling and this solitary red columbine in my garden seemed perfect.  It's hopeful (you can see some buds that have yet to open) but also standing a distance from the other plants in the garden, in isolation.  

We've got a chipmunk somewhere in the garage - you can see it scurry when you open the door.  We've left the big door open in the hopes it will find its way out.  Probably what will happen is that we'll now have a dozen chippies in the garage. Well, if they get hungry enough, they will scamper out.  I hope.

Be safe, be kind.

xo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.